Are you judging youself? – On the need to find a way to sustainably live your actions – (part 2/2)

Last week I wrote about the importance of letting go of judgement of other people’s actions, and how, really, we can only try to improve our own ways of living. LINK

Another, related, issue with that is learning how to not overburden ourselves, or expecting more of ourselves than we can currently sustainably achieve.

Let me explain, with an example: I could conceivably stop using our car, and instead only take the bus or cycle to work. That would save me about 0.75 tonnes of CO2 emission per year. However, right now, at this time in my life, I’m not going to do that. Because right now, this would be too hard for me. I’m not going to go into *why* it would be hard for me, because what might be hard for me might not seem like any big deal to someone else.

However, what I can try to do at the moment is trying to minimise the amount of plastic I buy. I can try to avoid planes on short-ish journeys and take the train (got a trip to Central Europe planned, which will be plane free). I can make sure to put all my recycling into our (bigger) recycling bin. And I can hope that for my next job I might live within easy cycling commuting distance and/or that we’ll get an electric car soon 🙂

But for now, I’m not going to be upset about the things I can’t do and instead focus on what I can incorporate into my life in a doable long-term way…
I think that particularly with things that aren’t “normal” or that can feel quite exhausting (like always feeling like you’re fighting a losing battle, or having to deal with questioning looks or comments from other people), it is really important to draw strength from within. And, at least for me, the way to do that is to be gentle and kind to myself, to not beat myself up about what could have done better, but to look at the changes that I have made, and that I can keep up.

And yes, some days I’ll fall short of what I thought I could do (maybe because I’m tired or getting ill or feel stressed about something) – but that’s only human, and there’s always a new dawn to start afresh 🙂

You alone are enough. You have nothing to prove to anybody.
Maya Angelou

Leave a Reply

