When I feel like giving up

This morning was one of the first times since starting my plastic free journey that I felt like giving up. Just not bothering with all this plastic-free-living anymore, just living like “normal” people (not that I could ever live a “normal” life :p ), not worrying about packaging or carbon footprints or pollution…

And it wasn’t even any sort of big sense of loss or feeling deprived that brought on these thoughts: I was just lying in bed wondering what I’d have for breakfast when I realised I couldn’t make French toast (bread soaked in mashed banana and coconut milk & fried with cinnamon and sugar) anymore because I don’t know where – or even if – I could buy unpackaged sliced bread like this…

So these thoughts got me thinking about the other side of sustainability; the personal, how-to-persevere-in-your-everyday-life-when-things-start-to-feel-too-hard/difficult/exhausting etc. kind of sustainability.
And I realised that it’s ok. It’s alright to acknowledge that I might sometimes really miss French toast or ready meals or something else wrapped in plastic I haven’t noticed yet because I’ve only been doing this for a few weeks. But quite often – pretty much always, actually – I think I’ll come to realise that I can either replace what I’m missing (eg using another unpackaged type of bread that I can buy in nearby shop’s unpackaged bakery section) or just let the desire pass by itself… (And if it really doesn’t go away, and I really can’t replace it, then maybe it might be worth giving in…)

I think this applies to many things in life where we’re trying to do things that aren’t “normal” or that stand out somehow: sometimes there’ll be times where we just want to give up, and sometimes we even might give in for a little bit, but in the end what matters (I think) is that we don’t beat ourselves up about it, and that we can learn from our challenges (I don’t want to call them “mistakes” if we can learn from them) and move on.

P.S.: I made myself some guacamole (mashed avocado with lemon juice, olive oil, salt and pepper, and some cherry tomatoes) and toasted the plaited bread roll I had, and it was a very nice and yummy breakfast πŸ™‚

P.P.S.: I will be posting some zero-waste/unpackaged plant-based recipes soon – keep your eyes peeled πŸ™‚ *nom nom*

4 thoughts on “When I feel like giving up

  1. Ups and downs are part of the journey. I got frustrated in the early stages because I’d shop with cloth totes, but then I’d see the person in front of me in the cue using double plastic bagged items and separate plastic bags for bananas, apples, etc. We do this for ourselves (well, and the planet πŸ˜‰ ), and it can be fun finding alternatives. Sounds like you should make a bread-baking attempt! πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. I actually found a little shop that sells white uncut and unpackaged bread and had a little chat with the cashier about making French toast πŸ™‚
      Also chatted with the bakers at our local supermarket – and they actually offered to give me some bread recipes πŸ™‚
      And I hear you about the frustration of seeing others using loads of plastic – I’ll be writing a post soonish about the importance of I being YOUR sustainability, not anybody else’s & not judging others for theirs either πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. It’s amazing how quickly you cease to crave some of the things that were part of normal life. I used to have a packet of crisps at lunch time pretty much every day but since January I’ve barely eaten a crisp (just a few times when out and crisps were part of a buffet type meal served in a bowl – and yes I know where they came from!). Now I don’t have any real desire to eat crisps at all. Pasta is probably the trickiest as while it can be made part of the point of pasta is for a quick meal; there are no loose pasta suppliers locally as far as I’m aware. As part of family coherence (13 year old son) we now allow one ‘treat item’ in plastic in the shopping (although I rarely partake myself). (https://goingplasticfree.wordpress.com/)

    Like

Leave a Reply

