Starting a Blog

I’ve been reading a lot about zero waste living and plastic-free living, and it just makes sense to me. Particularly the bit about “why are we using something (i.e. plastic) that will easily last hundreds of years in a way that makes use of it for less than an hour?…”. And so a few days ago I decided to embark on a journey to try and find out how hard it would be to avoid plastic… And well, it’s not easy, let’s put it that way: there’s the obvious hurdles in that it seems pretty much all food – even cucumbers… just: why?? – now come wrapped in plastic, but also the more subtle things such as feeling rather strange being the only person in the room to not have a styrofoam plate at lunch, or bringing glass jars onto a plane and munching home made peanut butter cookies from it (they were yummy though; I shall write up the recipe at some point).

I’ll soon write more on the practical aspects of trying to live a life less plastic in the future, but for now I’m going to concentrate on something else: while sitting at lunch today, eating an unwrapped scone and crumbling all over my dress, I decided to start writing about this, this journey towards being less wasteful; and also the greater journey of becoming more sustainable, which to me means all sorts of different things from using less plastic to generally trying to distance myself from unsustainable practices like consumerism and exploitation to striving for balance in all aspects of my personal life, and to trying to create a more sustainable way of seeing the world in its entirety (i.e. realising, in a non-airy-fairy-kind-of-way, that we are all interconnected, that our actions here can and do have an impact on the lives of people on the other side of the planet).

One thing I noticed this lunchtime was that it can feel really lonely and isolating to go against the flow, and so I’m hoping to maybe be able to offer a bit of companionship to all those who also want to strive for sustainability in their life, in whatever way they can…

2 thoughts on “Starting a Blog

  1. It always feels odd to be doing things differently than others, and I think you’re wise to seek companionship here! WordPress has a great community; check out the Reader (look up at the top left of your page right now and click Reader, then type key words into the “Topics” section to find other bloggers writing about the same stuff as you! This is how I found YOUR blog! I search for Minimalism a lot. šŸ™‚ )
    Anyway, I hear ya on plastic and waste. :/ There’s too much of it. I recycle weekly and we use glass and ceramics for nearly everything we eat and drink, but it’s still a problem when out sometimes. Working on it, though! šŸ™‚

    Looking forward to new posts from you, I’m a new follower!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!
      I’ve found that when out and about, trying to reduce waste has meant slowing down: I wouldn’t get a take away coffee, but actually sit down and savour it.
      And it was great when I realised how much minimalism and environmental (and other types of) sustainability work together. It all comes down to seeking contentment not in things but in beautiful experiences etc, I think šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

